Studying ICT

In this blog I am going to discuss whether it is better to study ICT skills to use a computer or to study computers to understand how to programme computer  software.  I am also going to be discussing about the advantages and the disadvantages.

So let’s start with studying ICT skills:

People all over the United Kingdom use simple ICT skills, these skills are using Word, Publisher, Excel, PowerPoint etc, and they also know how to use these softwares and what they are for,  an example would be that:

  • Microsoft Word: Word is used for making letters and to comment on someone else’s work.
  • Microsoft Publisher: Publisher is used for making posters, leaflets, flyers etc.

People also use ICT skills to play games, surf the web, social networking even to entertain themselves.  There are loads ICT skills, one of them you can do easily.

Whereas there are a quite a few reasons for studying computers so let’s talk about that now:

Some people when they grow up, might want to be an IT teacher or and IT technician, or they might want to carry out further with ICT, so they will look into how and they might be one.  Another reason is that if some else’s data is lost on their laptop, desktop or any device they have another person will be able to replace it right away.  So for example I am a complete thicko (but I know how to use ICT skills) and my  mate Samra knows everything about computer software, if I lose all my data, Samra will know how to restore it back.  But on the other hand it is useful to know how you do it yourself in case you friend is not there.

So they are the arguments for both ICT skills and studying computers.  So in my opinion I think it is better to know how to use ICT skills, not because I find it easy it is because I know how to use them, but I really don’t want to be an IT teacher or a technician.  But also I think you still need to learn how to study computers just in case.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Studying ICT

Leave a comment